Home > Dessert, Kid-Friendly > S’More Bars

S’More Bars

A few months ago my daughter emailed me a picture of s’more bars and told me that’s what she wanted when she came home from college. The recipe wasn’t vegan, but I decided to try and veganize it. I picked the wrong night to try it, though. After I got half way into the recipe, I realized that my son used the last of the flour yesterday without telling me. He also used almost all of the baking powder and dirtied all 3 sets of measure spoons. Why he needed 3 sets of measuring spoons to make 1 batch of waffles is beyond me. My daughter had my car, so I couldn’t run out and get flour or baking powder. I only had amaranth, quinoa, and millet flours on hand, so I used quinoa flour. I also was out of flax seeds and had to use egg replacer. Even with all of those bumps in the road, these actually came out!  Now, I couldn’t measure the egg replacer, baking powder or vanilla because washing the measuring spoons was my son’s responsibility. So I eye-balled them and wrote down what they should have been in the recipe. Oh, and feel free to replace the quinoa flour with all-purpose if you don’t have it.

I used ricemellow creme instead of marshmellows or marshmellow fluff. Not only is it vegan, but it actually tastes like toasted marshmellows, which is perfect for this dish.

1/2 cup Earth Balance

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tbsp egg replacer

4 Tbps warm water

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 cup quinoa flour

3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cup Ricemellow Creme

2 baking bars of semi-sweet chocolate (I used SunSpire)

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl cream together butter and sugars. In a coffee cup, combine egg replacer and warm water and mix until it thickens. Add vanilla and egg replacer mixture to the butter mixture and blend. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, graham crackers and baking powder. Add dry ingredients to the butter mixture and stir until combined. The mixture will be crumbly. Spray and 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray. Take half of the graham cracker mixture and press into the bottom of the pan. Spread the ricemellow creme evenly over the graham cracker layer. Lay the chocolate bars side-by-side on top of the ricemellow creme. Pour the rest of the graham cracker mixture on top of the chocolate bars and gently press until it evenly covers the chocolate. Be careful not to push too hard or the ricemellow will start to squish out along the sides. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

I only used the equivalent of 1 egg when I made this, but the graham cracker crust was too dry. I think it was because the quinoa flour absorbs more liquid than wheat flour. In the recipe above, I doubled the egg replacer to help with that. I also cooked mine for 30 minutes, but the ricemellow bubbled out along the sides and ended up almost caramelizing along the edges. The center was still nice and marshmellow-y though. I think reducing the baking time from 30 minutes to 20 minutes will correct that.

Categories: Dessert, Kid-Friendly Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

